Thread: How do you find a good spot?

Default How do you find a good spot?

The title says it all.This is my first year ice fishing and just wanted to know how to find a good spot?Do you go to your usual fishing grounds during the summer?or do the fish like different kind's of environment during the winter?do you map out the lake and gues?or do you just keep changing spots till you find where the fish are biting?Any info appreciated.Thanks for looking

A good starting point is to look for old holes that have blood around them.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

It always seems a little better if you walk away from the access point. I try to find some contours like points into a cove and such. I drill a quick hole and fish it immediately. Then after a minute, I try to look down into the hole to assess the lay of the land. I typically like to sight fish during ice fishing so depending on the clarity of the lake, I try to set up in 5 to 15 ft of water for trout and dollies. It can be a whole lot shallower for pike it seems like. I then proceed to drill holes perpendicular to the shoreline (i.e same point, different depths) When I find a good depth, then I start spreading out along the shorelines at that depth.

The key I think for us is the visually looking down the hole. We prefer gravel with some weeds. Even if there are no keeper fish, if you can see abundance of baitfish or freshwater shrimp like copepods ( I think that's what they are) then you might stay put. Ice fishing for stocked trout, it seems like they circle a certain area so you can also often tell that most of your fish are coming and often going back in the same direction. Ice fishing while peering down the hole is much more exciting than the world's best video game! If you don't do it, you will be amazed at the number of fish you will see pass your bait or lure up.