Thread: Any tips for photographing the northern lights? Chena Hot Springs Jan 25-31...

Default Any tips for photographing the northern lights? Chena Hot Springs Jan 25-31...

The wife and I are going to spend the last week of January at Chena Hot Springs. I decided to marry my wife while at Chena in Nov 2004. Going back has special meaning. Kind of a last minute idea that popped up this morning and we booked the room and airline tickets today.

Sipping muscadine wine out of plastic Gatorade bottles while floating around in the hot water. Riding the snow coach up the mountain side to photograph the lights each night. Acting like the tourist we are and gawking at the ice hotel while drinking apple martinis out of ice glasses. Riding the snow machines a few days. Zero to minus 40. It offers just the change in scenery I am looking for at the moment.

However, I have no experience photographing the lights. Wondered if anyone here might have some suggestions. General camera setting suggestions, basic technique, and such would be most appreciated. I will have two bodies, tripod, remote release, 17-40, 24-105, etc.. Thanks for any comment and feel free to post your favorite lights image here for inspiration and/or example.

-Dan
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Yes, I do. You must use a tripod and you'll need to use a rather long exposure. But you already knew that.

If you want some forground in the shot, open the shutter and then hit the flash. Leave the shutter open long enough to get the lights. IMHO, the best lights shots also have something else in them, such as a wooded skyline, a cabin, or whatever.