Thread: Float hunting the Anvik

Default Float hunting the Anvik

I'm new to this forum...and need some help. Am planning a float hunt for 2012, and the Anvik river looks interesting....Anyone hunted it? My wish list (in order of preference) for my hunt is as follows: 1. Wilderness experience, 2. Good chance for either Moose or Caribou, 3. Good fishing, 4. Fly in float out. 5. Good chance for both Moose and Caribou. I have extensive big whitewater experience, and lots of Wilderness camping experience. If anyone has any ideas for other rivers that might better meet my wish list, please let me know. You can contact me off forum at ronsun25@yahoo.com if you would rather. Thanks, Ron

will be a good place for Moose, but I don't think any caribou.
    fishing is great with all kinds of variety to catch.
    Easy to navigate river with no rapids, there is a lodge on the river. and there are some commercial moose hunting operators .
    Lots of birds too, and should have good camping.
    need to check on native lands to make sure you are not trespassing when you get out on the banks.
    sounds like a great trip.
    good hunting
    Max
    When you come to a fork in the trail, take it!

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Welcome to the forum jungle.....
    I would suggest you get a copy of the book Float Hunting Alaska's Wild Rivers, sold here on this site, written by Mike S..

dennis....

I have one, thats where I learned what I know about the Anvik...it looks like the type of hunt I would like, just looking for some personal experience before I go any farther in planning. Thanks, Ron

Like canoe said, not much for bou on that river. 2 best big game critter opportunities will be moose and griz. Should be black bears also.