Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Howa - Accuracy and Quality Questions

Default Howa - Accuracy and Quality Questions

I have been contemplating several 375 rifles. I'm convinced I want a 375. What I purchase as the bullet-launcher is another thing. I've got great information from folks on this forum in a previous thread...I'm still in the information gathering and decision making process. Here goes...

I see the Stainless Steel Howa chambered in the 375 Ruger cartridge. Full retail for the complete rifle is $650.00, the barreled action alone retails at $550.00. I have no experience with the Howa brand.

Use: Mostly trying to make little tiny groups on paper so when I get out hunting I'll have confidence in my rifle, my ability to hit with it, and a rapid second shot if needed.

My questions for people that have owned a Howa rifle in 375 Ruger, or have fired one:
    #1: Accuracy: What should I expect, what is common?
    #2: Is this a quality rifle?
    #3: Any known problems with it?
    #4: Do you recommend for it, or against it?
    #5: What should I have asked about this rifle that I failed to ask?
    #6: How does it measure up to other brands under $1000.00?

As for the stock...If it's lousy then I know that HS Precision or another stock manufacturer can probably fit the Howa. I'm not opposed to replacing the stock.

The decision process continues... I thank you for your comments!

AJ

I've had a Howa in the past and they are the maker of the Weatherby Vanguard, the older S&W rifles, and others. They are a solid performing (if under rated) rifle.