Thread: Ken, Talk Me Into a Colt 1911!

Default Ken, Talk Me Into a Colt 1911!

What are the virtues of a Colt over other 1911 platforms - I've got no dogs in the fight on this one - just looking at all the different manufacturers of 1911's and weeding through pros and cons of makers.

My name isn't Ken, but this one is easy: it's a Colt. About the only thing I'd do to a stainless National Match say (when I can afford two), would be to smooth up the overall action. Then I'd carry it with me everywhere.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Get a Glock. No polishing or tuning required. You can carry it anywhere right out of the box.

(p.s. Colt makes GREAT guns! Why? Because they have rigid standards for all the parts they buy to put them together.)
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

Looked at some Colts today and liked what I saw for the most part. They don't come cheap but I'm hoping that's due to quality parts/workmanship vs. the brand name on the slide. I had my eye on a Springfield too just to muddy the water. I agree that most polymer guns work right out of the box and are reliable and adequately accurate. Never hurts to look. Thanks for the responses.