Thread: Black Powder in Anchroage

Default Black Powder in Anchroage

Where is the best place in Anchorage to purchase black powder and 209 primers?

I'm new to muzzle loader hunting and Santa will be brining me a smoke pole for X-mas.

Thanks

Flyster

the only place I know of that sells genuine black powder is Great northern guns. I sometimes see it at the birchwood shooting range for sale too. There is a guy at the gun shows that sells black as well. You can find him through Mckinley mountain men muzzleloader club. His name is Keith Bayha.

If your going to do a lot of shooting you might consider having it shipped in by the case lot. http://www.jackspowderkeg.com/

If you are uisng 209 primers might as well use pyrodex RS. Easier to find, easier to clean.Available at sportsmans etc

I should have clarified I am not looking to shoot "black powder" but want to shoot the more reliable black powder subsitutes.

How much easier to clean is Pyrodex RS, and what is the difference between Pyrodex RS and regular Pyrodex?

Thanks.

Forget pyrodex. Go with Triple Seven.

The letter designations on pyrodex are just the grain sizes. P for pistol which replaces 3F black powder and RS for rifle/shotgun which replaces 2F black powder.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

I agree that Triple Seven is about the easiest thing going to clean up, short of American Pioneer. AP however, deteriorates really quickly once you open a jug in a damp climate, so I steer completely clear of it. One thing to note on Trip7 is that it takes less of it to generate the same pressures and velocitities. IIRC the can sezz reduce loads by 15% to achieve the same as you do with Pyrodex or black.