Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A good trail camera and tree stand?

Default A good trail camera and tree stand?

Anyone have any suggestion on a good trail camera for a decent price?Likewise for a tree stand

Both of these are a lengthy topic and as always, everyone has their favorites. I've been researching new camera's now for two months and there are many factors to consider. For example:

1) unit size
    2) protective case
    3) memory (most cameras limit you to a 2GB card)
    4) battery life
    5) IR sensor for night shots
    6) resolution adjustment
    7) length it takes to set-up
    8) card viewing in the field e.g. unit contains a LCD display, has an attachable card reader, or will it require a compatible camera

The next item to consider is do you want a DIY kit or a ready to use unit?

If your a DIY type of guy, there are a number of kits you can purchase to put your own together - a nice winter project if your into that sort of thing. Here are a few websites with the basics:

1) Hags House - Home Made Trail Camera Project
    2) Whitetail Supply & Feed - The Leader in Home Brew Trail Camera's Parts and Accessories
    3) The Snapshot Sniper

If your not into the DIY thing, I would suggest searching online (there is a ton of information out there).

Camera's average $150-$200 each. This is one area I wouldn't go cheap on, the resource is to valuable IMO. Protective enclosures are an additional expense - which I recommend and are usually $25-$50 each. Check to see if one is available for your camera before you buy though; they are not available for all camera types.

Last year, I thought I'd save money and didn't get any protective enclosures... now I have a box of broken camera's that curious bears (or bears that detected bait scent on the camera due to not using rubber gloves when baiting) decided to eat and/or use as a toy.
    Funny..I never required any protective enclosures for moose and deer hunting