Thread: Gun Boot Mount For 2011 Tundra

Default Gun Boot Mount For 2011 Tundra

Fabricated a mount for Kolpin Gun Boot on my new Tundra. This is the fourth machine it has been on...never had a problem with the wing nuts or mount coming loose.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks! I have been looking for ideas.
    I don't mean to sound bitter, cold, or cruel, but I am, so that's how it comes out.
    Bill Hicks

That is a clean install for sure. Have you ever had problems with the scope due to vibration?
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I have never experienced scope problems due to the vibration. I use Leupold scopes , 2-7 x primarily although I had a 3.5-10 for a while and neither one suffered from the ride.

Could you show a close-up of the two attachments at the top? Or a quick-and-dirty How To? I want to make one for my AC Bearcat.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Default Gun Boot Bracket Attatchment

I used .125" aluminum for the bracket-trimmed to size and bent tabs on bottom to 90 and drilled thru tabs and tunnel. i attatched bracket with 1/4 -20 SS bolts , flat washers and nylock nuts. the top of the bracket is secured with 1" rubber insulated clamps, again using 1/4-20 SS bolts, flat washers, and nylocks. I cemented sheet rubber to bottom of tabs before bolting in place on tunnel.
    Attached Images Attached Images

BINGO!

That's what I needed. Thank you!