Thread: Relocating to Alaska from Florida...

Default Relocating to Alaska from Florida...

Hi everyone, so glad I found this forum as there is alot of useful information here.

I am a correctional officer in the State of Florida and I'm wondering if I want to continue in a state prison or maybe work in a Sheriff's Dept. (local jails) instead. I've talked on the phone and tried to read up on alot of things, but I'm getting confused...someone said I have to be a resident of Alaska for 6 months before applying. The areas I'm considering is Wasilla & Palmer...any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Just wanted to add that this move is something that I've been wanting to do for the last 15 yrs and I'm finally able to start planning!

Quote Originally Posted by sgttmac2010 View Post
    Hi everyone, so glad I found this forum as there is alot of useful information here.

I am a correctional officer in the State of Florida and I'm wondering if I want to continue in a state prison or maybe work in a Sheriff's Dept. (local jails) instead. I've talked on the phone and tried to read up on alot of things, but I'm getting confused...someone said I have to be a resident of Alaska for 6 months before applying. The areas I'm considering is Wasilla & Palmer...any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Just wanted to add that this move is something that I've been wanting to do for the last 15 yrs and I'm finally able to start planning!
    Palmer has a prison facility that might be right up your alley.
    I can do the impossible right away. Be patient, miracles take me a bit longer.

Thanks GrizzlyH, can you tell me if there is a local Police or Sheriff's Dept. that have jails?

Quote Originally Posted by sgttmac2010 View Post
    Thanks GrizzlyH, can you tell me if there is a local Police or Sheriff's Dept. that have jails?
    Yep, Wasilla has a police department. Worth inquiring on for sure. Wasilla and Palmer is a great place to live if you can find work.