Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Covering traps? Does it matter? Firming snares in place? Plus some basic questions.

Default Covering traps? Does it matter? Firming snares in place? Plus some basic questions.

I'm new to AK, I've been trapping in WA/ID for about 20 years. Since the season started I've learned so much about trapping in cold, snowy weather. I had a fox step on the pan of a trap yesterday and leave a nice little print but no "snap". 1/2" of hard crust over the top. Today I got 3 squirrels in marten sets, and one snow shoe in a lynx set, no big fur bearers yet. I'm going to set out toward Glennallen this weekend. Hope to get in 10 quaility cat sets and 20 marten poles.

Questions - Do you cover the pan of your traps? All animals?

Plus I'm just really learning snaring, didn't do much in lower 48 for some reason. How or what do you use do to keep the animal from just pushing them to the side? I don't want to wrap wire them in place so the animal cant push through but I can't just leave it hanging? Little frustrated with my snares. I had a fox push past one this week, snare turned sideways.

Question - I'm using rabbit for bait for cat and marten, I don't have any good beaver sets so what else are you guys using for bait? Do you ever just use lure for cat? In WA/ID I always used cubbies with a whole or half beaver carcas, but I also got 15-25 beaver a year (then I stopped trapping them after the first week of the season because it just became work).

Anyway cant wait to run into some of you out on the trail, its all about having fun!

thanks

Chris

I use a feather to draw intrest and I hate to say it but peanut butter for their nose.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

Quote Originally Posted by Teacherman View Post
    Anyway cant wait to run into some of you out on the trail, its all about having fun!

thanks

Chris