Thread: Beaver trapping question

Cool Beaver trapping question

I have a beaver close to home and I've been trying to catch him for a few days now. I placed a few 330's and a #4 close to his house but still nothing. Any suggestions on what I should try next. This is a river beaver but he's been pretty active and centralized since Friday so should I just give it more time or place a few more traps. This is my first year trapping since HS so I'm learning all over again.

Get some Castor lure and made a Castor mound IT will be harder now since things are all frozen up or find where he is going into the water at and set his trail.

Is there a cache of limbs under the water? A food supply. I would put the 330 near that. Wire some shaved sticks of wood to the trigger. The castor set up is good too. I assume there is not a dam to tamper with?

I guess I was too much in a hurry to ask for assistance since I got two last night after posting my question. The ice is beginning to become an issue and they're not coming out of the water anymore but I'm pretty sure there's few more in the area. Not sure what the castor lure is but I was able to place two 330's under water, after my swim in the water, right next to the food pile and what looks like a raceway/entrance way. I was going to put a third trap in but I was losing light and getting a little cold so I called it! I appreciate the info and help, good luck trapping guys

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	009.jpg 
Views:	120 
Size:	36.3 KB 
ID:	41971 She was over 45lbs, don't mind the superman pants, I was taking her to the garage and calling it a night! ha ha

Perserverence pays off! Congrats on the catch!

Right On Crandad,

Nice Job, those are NICE,

You beat me to it on the Pajama pants, was going to try to say something funny about those but,

You look so hard core up top..... Good One, Thanks for the pics Keep posting of your further success this winter