Thread: tundra track walking

Question tundra track walking

I have a little 85' tundra that I use quite a bit now that my safari/cheyenne is having a new tranny installed (which will probably take me all winter..)
    But on to my other problem. My track likes to loosen and walk back and forth. It is starting to tear things up a bit.
    Whats the best fix add another tightening nut? One just doesn't seem to be doing it.....

regards..

reuben

Is the jam nut still on there to keep things from loosing up? It shouldnt lossen back up if the jam nut is tight and the track is adjusted right

Well... I'm no expert.. but I centered the track, tightened it up as much as I figured I could..(there is approx 1.5" of bolt left to the bracket.. this includes the jam nut itself.. It was centered nice.. I checked it frequently, but it didn't seem to bad. On the way back to town from my homestead it walked almost off the left bogie.
    I replaced a bunch of track clips last year... More than I care to remember...
    Both jam nuts are there and as tight as I can get them, in that cramped area....
    I replaced a badly worn slide last year on the right side... Now the left is getting chewed up and it was in really good shape last year..
    I just got back into town (after popping a ball joint....sheesh...)..
    I'll take another look at first thing tomorrow, and I'll post pics....
    Thanks much for the help.... I'll keep posting...

regards...

reuben..

Reuben,
    Try 90's and older in Wasilla @ 745-2733. John really knows those machines and is very helpful.
    Mike

Quote Originally Posted by reuben_j_cogburn View Post
    Well... I'm no expert.. but I centered the track, tightened it up as much as I figured I could..(there is approx 1.5" of bolt left to the bracket.. this includes the jam nut itself.. It was centered nice.. I checked it frequently, but it didn't seem to bad. On the way back to town from my homestead it walked almost off the left bogie.