Thread: Trails around Eagle River?

Default Trails around Eagle River?

I'm new to XC skiing and looking for some trails. A friend is taking me out to Kincaid for a crash course.

I'm in the dark about where to go after that. Beach Lake sounds pretty cool. Any other suggestions?

I'm not looking to run from Eagle River to Girdwood just yet so simple, smaller things would work great.

Thanks!
    ><((((>.`..`.. ><((((>`..`.><((((>

"People who drink light 'beer' don't like the taste of beer; they
    just like to pee a lot." --Capitol Brewery

If you are looking for groomed trails, Kincaid and Beach Lake are great trail systems. Also, there is the Hillside trail system that I am on pretty much daily. Another good option if you are coming from Eagle River would be the trails at Bartlett High School. For classic skiing, Russian Jack has some fun trails as well.

Let me know if you have any questions about trailheads. Some depends on whether you are willing to ski some in the dark or will be out during daytime. There are lighted trails at many of these places, but skiing during the day or with a headlamp opens up a lot more trail option and access points.

Agreed with the Beach Lake trails, but be warned that there are some pretty tough, hilly trails out there. There are some pretty mild loops as well, so pay attention to the maps. When the map says "executioner", "yo-yo's", "luge", and "agony hill", believe it.

I understand that they also put in some groomed trails at Eagle River High. I haven't tried them yet, but it might be worth checking out.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian M View Post
    I understand that they also put in some groomed trails at Eagle River High. I haven't tried them yet, but it might be worth checking out.
    When I skied them last year, they were very flat and boring. I am a HUGE fan of the Beach Lake trails.