Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much should I cut down my big bore?

Default How much should I cut down my big bore?

I’ve really got my eye on a Marlin 444P Outfitter at GNG, but I’ve decided to put my $$ into my XLR 444 and have the barrel cut down. Kinda bothers me that the 444p isn’t stainless.

I haven’t decided whether to cut the barrel from 24” to 18.5” or 20”. What kind of loss in velocity, energy and accuracy will I get from cutting it an extra 1.5”, down to 18.5”? Is cutting it down an extra 2 inches that big of a deal?

Regarding handloading, philosophically I’m a mass & energy guy, I don’t think you have to sling a bullet at 3,000 fps to take a moose or grizz. I believe the mass the energy of the bullet will compensate for the perceived lack of velocity. With that said, what kind of a loss in velocity am I looking at regarding cutting the barrel from 24 to 20”? Noticeable? 100fps? 200? How much muzzle velocity will I lose going from 20-18.5”?

I am fairly new to reloading and I plan on handloading Beartooth 330 LFN for my 444. I’d like to be able to moose hunt and shoot a grizzly bear with my cut-down 444 and I figure my effective range is a max of 150 or 200 yards.

Didn't mean to ramble…the gist of my question is this: is cutting my barrel down to 18.5” sacrificing too much velocity, accuracy and energy considering I want to sling a big piece of lead at a grizz?

Thanks for reading this ramble and providing any insight.

Tim

Why have you chosen the 444 over the 45-70?

Quote Originally Posted by tccak71 View Post
    ...Didn't mean to ramble…the gist of my question is this: is cutting my barrel down to 18.5” sacrificing too much velocity, accuracy and energy considering I want to sling a big piece of lead at a grizz?