Thread: Jetboat pros & cons?

Default Jetboat pros & cons?

My brother had a jet boat several years ago and sucked sand and gravel into his intake and buggered up something inside (fins or something?) that was a couple hundred dollars to fix. A friend of mine had one that got the intake kept getting plugged by seaweed and made for a long, cold day unplugging the intake repeatedly, although no cost was involved in fixing it. Gas consumption is greater in the jet, steering is a learned art, and being stuck looks self explanatory as a drawback. I have demolished a few props on my prop boat, but have a spare and have always been able to at least limp home. I know the advantages are running in skinny water that I won’t even see with my prop boat, but on the whole are they very problematic to run? I have limited experience with jets and am just curious about what people have to say pro or con about jetboats.
    If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction.
    Dietrich Bonhoeffer

At the risk of starting a jihad, here are the basics:

1. Jet boats are (generally) not any more problematic to run than a prop;
    2. Inboard jets generate more power than do outboard jets (30% loss due to hydrodynamics of outboard pump design);
    3. Inboard jets can generally can turn more quickly, as you're moving a nozzle, rather than the entire powerhead;
    4. Outboard jets are easier to clean in that you can tilt them up to disassemble, etc - but depends on the problem;
    5. Waaaay more fun than props to run due to steer behavior, places you can go, etc - look for TJM's video collection for a taste of good times

If you're not getting stuck or sucking in some stuff up the intake, you're just not having fun then, are you?