Thread: getting started need some help

Default getting started need some help

Ok so I am just getting into the whole predator hunting / trapping thing since I was 10 and I don't remember as much as I should. First I have shot 1/2 dozen fox in the last week or so, just got another one tonight. And I don't remember all the details of skinning to do it properly. Anyone in the north pole area want to give me a demo :-). Next my kids have gotten into this so much they want us to run a trap line on some property we own north of town. Just a little one for now, but we know there is a pack of wolves there and lots of fox. I have been reading up on the threads here, but would welcome any other tips especially geared towards doing it with young kids. Thanks

Andrew
    60% of men don't know what they have until they lose it
    15% aren't sure but figure it's better than nothing
    25% know exactly what they have and would do anything to lose it or give it to someone else

No. 1: Join Ak. Trappers Assoc., go to the meetings, and read the magazine.
    No. 2: Start reading www.trapperman.com, the Wilderness Forum. Lots of info there.
    No. 3: Pile all those fox carcasses on your property in some brush where you can set snares. Maybe you have some places to snare rabbits too?
    Good luck.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

No. 1: Planning on it
    No.2: Just checked it out, thanks
    No. 3: Good idea, if the foxes keep coming at this rate its going to be a big pile

The first thing my son asked when we started getting foxes was can I have a blanket made of those... What kind of steak do you get from them. :-)
    25% know exactly what they have and would do anything to lose it or give it to someone else

You have shot a half dozen fox in just a week? WOW! Maybe I'm showing how naive I am regarding predator calling, but that seems like a phenomenally good success rate! Congratulations!