Thread: Ptarmigan Hunting?

Default Ptarmigan Hunting?

I am new to hunting in Alaska and am wondering where are a few places to try for ptarmigan within and hour or two from Anchorage? Any tips, tricks, and/or directions to areas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

J,
    Ptarms are usually hunted way beyond the city boarders of anchorage. If two hours being your max driving time allotted, i would say that mystery creek (Down before Sterling, after the Russian River area) would be just about a 1.4 hour drive... or maybe sutton (Jonesville Mine Road) if you drive fast enough :P the farther you go the better your chances for a successful ptarmigan hunt...

oh yeah, and for tips/tricks/etc- i would recommend reading up on grouse/ptarmigan habitats and food sources. I know gravel, berries, hips, and spruce trees are all good signs... I usually drive down mystery road until i spook one, park the truck, and begin the stalk... There's no other way to do it there from what i observe. In Sutton, I use Binoculars to try and glass the area to try my luck spotting one and still-hunt my way over there. Or walk along the gravel road until I glass/see one, or spook one from getting too close...
    From my experience, they're real skittish, probably from getting hunted excessively..
    but hey, just my .02

Quote Originally Posted by jhoos View Post
    I am new to hunting in Alaska and am wondering where are a few places to try for ptarmigan within and hour or two from Anchorage? Any tips, tricks, and/or directions to areas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
    Jhoos,

The areas Gary808 refers to are primarily spruce grouse country. Later in the winter when the snow gets real deep some ptarmigan will come down into the Mystery Creek Road area but very tough to find and the road is closed by then anyway.