Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with New Marlin 1895 SBL

Default Problem with New Marlin 1895 SBL

I admit that I am new to the lever action world, but for the life of me I can't get the thing to take a round. Caliber is .45-70.

This is as far as they go in, then the rim catches. If I uncock the lever a bit they will go in the rest of the way, but then they slide backwards after the cover door closes.

I really hope this is me and not the gun. I do have a Marlin 336 and have no problem loading. Does anybody have any ideas before I contact Marlin to send it in?

I have tried 2 kinds of ammo, Leverevolution and Buffalo Bore FWIW. Here are some more pics for reference.

TYREX, I'd be on the phone with Marlin, could be something as simple as debris in the tube someplace but if moving the lever allows ctg to drop in then I am thinking a fit issue.....
    America is unique because we embrace Freedom.
    Freedom simply means you have choices, you can have things you want.
    Freedom does not guarantee safety - your choices do that!

It's not the tube stopping the round for loading. I have "cheated" 2 rounds into the tube by wiggling the action while loading. The rim gets wedged between the opening and the front of the lever mechanism.

Have you taken it apart at all yet?
    "Beware the man with only one gun; he may know how to use it."

If you can, find someone with an 1895 and try their lever on it. My guess it that the lever cam is screwed and holding the carrier up too much at the wrong time (from your description).

FWIW go onto marlinowners.com and see if any similar issues. Don't want to be the bearer of bad, but there have been a lot of quality issues reported on MO, specifically with SBLs and also the other newer Marlins, following the Remington buyout and factory closure/move.