Thread: Realistic expectations

Default Realistic expectations

Okay, so any of you who have read any of my posts knows I am very new to this....BUT, I am always a quick learner and put everything I have into what I do so that I do it well. That said, I will want to do well at trapping the animals I am going for, and I don't want to get started and think I am doing well when I am in fact not, or that I am doing poorly when I may be doing just fine.

I am hoping to trap wolf, coyotes, wolverines, fox, beaver, lynx, and marten. I want to know if my expectations are too high or too low, or right on.

My hope is that the first year I will get maybe 7-10 marten, 1-2 coyotes, 4-5 fox, 1-2 beaver, 1 lynx.

As far as wolf and wolverine, I am hoping for an average of one out of the two per year..i.e., a wolf one year, a wolverine the next....maybe two wolves the next, and nothing the next. I am assuming wolf are very hard to catch, but wolverine are even harder. I don't know why i think this, but it is just my perception.

I will most likely be setting about a dozen snares for wolf, a few coni's and snares for wolverine, about a dozen snares and a couple traps for beaver, a dozen snares and a few traps for coyote, a dozen snares and a dozen traps for fox, a few traps a snares for lynx, and about a dozen traps for marten.

it doesn't seem like too much to handle, but also tell me if that is too many to manage. Thanks.

Also, if anyone can point me in a good area for wolverine, I would be grateful. I really want to get at least one in the next couple years and have no idea where to start with them.

Depends....on where you intend to trap....one line or multiples in different locations.