Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which 22 lever gun?

Default Which 22 lever gun?

I caught some wind concerning the kids and grand kids going together and getting me a 22 lever gun for Christmas.

I am really liking the Browning BL22 or a 39a Mountie which would have to be a good used one since they are no longer offered.

What are your expert thoughts on the matter?

Thanks EKC

EKC,

I'm by no means an expert, but researched these extensively a while back. The general consensus among those who opinions I trust most on the matter are that the best ones out there are the Winchester and the Marlin. If you can find the 39A mountie, so much the better. There were a lesser number of votes for the Browning, but it was still mentioned. I personally will eventually own a Marlin 39 in some configuration. Call it a combination of my current satisfaction with my two Marlin rifles and the recommendation of others more experienced than I.

I haven't yet had the money for the right Marlin 39 though, and since I "had" to have a lever action .22, I went the cheaper, but also very good Henry Frontier model. (octagonal barrel, and metalic sights and barrel band, instead of the plastic ones on the base model.) The metal in the receiver of the Henry isn't as good as the others, but Henry's customer service is second to none, and after roughly 1000 -1500 rounds through mine I have no complaints thus far.

I sure hope my kids do something similar someday, and whatever they wind up getting for you, I'm sure you'll enjoy it. If you'd like to do some research on them, there's a wealth of information over on rimfirecentral.com.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.