Thread: Marten in the Interior

Default Marten in the Interior

I am new to trapping and have to take it easy this year due to some injuries. Getting out on the sled will be very limited. I was wondering if it is possible to find Marten in the out-skirts of town in areas I could ski or snowshoe to? Not looking for specifics or anyone to give away secrets, just wondering if I would be wasting my time or not. I know plenty of areas with TONS of Hare's, Red Squirels and Vols.

On second note... Anyone know where the HECK to get a 55 or 33 gallon drum? I can't find any kind of metal container big enough to dye more than 4 or 5 traps!

The Interior is quite a big area you might want to verify which outskirts you are talking about ? Fairbanks North pole Fox Delta Salcha? There is snow now look for prints put out some sets(when the season opens of course) see if you connect. Also if you are targeting marten I assume you are talking 110's and 120's for the traps you are talking about dying. For marten and 110's 120's I dont do anything to them as well as many other people I know straight out of the box and to the line they dont seem to mind the scent and they will probably get a nice coat of rust but that will be ok.