Thread: Help with Denting Problem

Default Help with Denting Problem

I'm rather new to reloading and I'm having problems with my 300 weatherby brass denting when I'm resizing. I've made certain there's no lube on the neck/shoulder areas, but they are still denting just below the shoulder. What am I doing wrong? Out of about 25 rounds 13 came out dented. If it helps any I'm using a single stage Lee press and new Redding dies. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Use the Lee case lube. Sounds like a friction problem to me or your die is not set to the proper depth. Too deep will dent the cases also.
    Just some things to look at. If your using Lee carbide dies, you shouldn't need lube in most cases. Also, are you using full length dies or just neck dies? I recomment the full length die sets and get the factory crimp die also.

Quote Originally Posted by countryboy44 View Post
    I'm rather new to reloading and I'm having problems with my 300 weatherby brass denting when I'm resizing. I've made certain there's no lube on the neck/shoulder areas, but they are still denting just below the shoulder. What am I doing wrong? Out of about 25 rounds 13 came out dented. If it helps any I'm using a single stage Lee press and new Redding dies. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Could you post a pic of the problem?

There are several possibilities. For starters, I'd clean the inside of the sizing die with a spray solvent (brake cleaner or the like) and try again. Are you bumping the die with the shellholder during sizing? If so I'd back the die off a half of a turn and try again.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.

Default Thanks for the quick response.