Thread: Willows and Whitetails

Default Willows and Whitetails

A three hour trek into the mountains, to about 2300 feet, produced a coulple of whitetail ptarmigan and a couple of willows. The willows still had a bit of fall color on their backs and head. Really good looking birds. Did not see a lot of them but plenty to have a great time watching Winchester point them. He was a lot happier than he looks in the picture.

128.JPG

All right this is a dumb question I'm sure... Do the whitetail ptarmigan look noticably different from the willow and rock ptarmigan? I got two this morning and they had black tails but were solid white otherwise. I assumed they were rock ptarmigan since they were up so high, but like I've said before, I'm really new at this.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.

Not a dumb question, they are sort of hard to distinguish until you have been around them a bit. THe whitetails are noticably smaller and have, white tail feather with no black markings on their head. Willows have the black tail feathers, rocks have white tail feather and a small strip of black that runs across their eye. Rocks are a bit bigger than white tails, the willows are the largest.

Nice job! I'm heading down to the Paxson area with .....Paxson! lol I'll be down there all day on friday. I would have thrown up the wall tent for a weekend hunt, but was offered OT on Sat.

SkinnyD,

Both willow and rock ptarmigan have black tail feathers, but the whitetail, the smallest of the three speicies, has all white tail feathers, hence the name "whitetail ptarmigan."

Don't know where you hunted today, but my best guess is that you shot two rock ptarmigan.

Jim