Thread: Sierra 200gr spitzer experiences?

Default Sierra 200gr spitzer experiences?

I just bought a box of .30 200gr to load for my .06 and was wondering what folks thought of them for hunting moose and bou. I've never used them before, but I figured I'd give them a try.
    Thoughts, opinions?

Mountaintrekker

Sierra are darn fine bullet and should perform very well in the 06. I use 180 hornady's in my 308 Norma mag and they perform very well for a cup and core bullet. Also look at the 200 gr partition a little more money a good bullet as well.

I'm looking to go with the Hornady 165 or 168 gr Boatails for my 06. Still studying powders and ballistics, but will start a few practice loads later this winter.
    Good luck with your loading Mountaintrekker
    I can do the impossible right away. Be patient, miracles take me a bit longer.

Try as I may, I can't bring myself to shell out $36.00 for 50 Partitions. Call me a cheap skate, but I shoot a fair ammount and I like to practice with what I use to hunt with and Sierras or Hornadys seem like a fair deal at $33.00 per 100. Nice to hear you like them 323, If I can work up a decent load, I think I'll adopt them as my "everything" big game load.
    GrizzlyH- If I may ask, what are your intended targets in AK for such a lighter weight bullet?

Mountaintrekker

In my opinion for what its worth, I've found the sierra bullets to be very accruate. when it comes to animals such as a big moose, caribou and bear, you might want to consider spending the extra money for a Premium bullet, I personally have used sierra bullets on moose and caribou and have not been happy with the preformance. will they do the job? yep. but concider if you have your moose down and you have a run in with a big brown bear, which bullet are you going to want then? for me a few more dollars are well spent