Thread: How to get snowmachine across yard without destroying the yard?

Default How to get snowmachine across yard without destroying the yard?

My snowmachine is parked in my back yard (about a 40 foot straight shot to my driveway). I'd like to get it into the garage so I can do some pre-season maintenance. It's a 4 stroke Yamaha (heavy pig!).

I'm relatively new to snowmachines. How can I get this thing across the grass without tearing up the yard? I do have access to ATVs. However, my trailer is too large to back up to where the snowmachine currently is.

Any suggestions on how to accomplish this? Thanks.

I would think you could drive it across the yard without doing too much damage if you are able to do it without spinning the track. That thing is too heavy to try other methods.
    If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction.
    Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

aw go like hell acros the yard.... then you'll already have your spring project all lined out!!!!!!!
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

FYI, they tear the yard all to heck. I don't have another option, I just do what Vince described.... Fire it up and go like heck!!

I drove my VK Pro around the yard not long ago. I always drag a sled out and ride in the yard on 4th of July, so it wasn't the first time. Avoid track spin and try to go in a straight line. Turning is when you'll dig stuff up, both from the carbides digging and the track's resistance to slipping on the inside of the turn radius. Straight lines will do very little or no damage.

Just think of it as pre-season rototilling or thatching.

Cheap sleds at walmart...