Thread: Learning to play the GAME!!!

Default Learning to play the GAME!!!

Im new to calling. I got a Fox Pro for Christmas last year and tried it a few times with no results. So today I got a call from my friend telling me, Hey I have a wolf over here in my valley come over and bring your caller. I ran over, just as I got there my friend told me the wolf was over on a ridge and just went into some alders. In the time it took me to set up my caller, the wolf came out into view. It was about a mile away and just about half way up the mountain side. I used a wood pecker sound, the moment the wolf heard the sound it turned and ran down the mountain then stopped. The wolf looked right at us for a few seconds, then turned and ran along the mountain. I thought this is it we got him. We watched it until it ran into the brush. We sat there for 40 minutes waiting for it to show up and he never did. Is there anything I should have done different? Is this how it goes, win some - loss some? The way he was running and moving I thought he was going to show himself and I would be posting something different.

A "woodpecker" .... I don't know of many wolves looking for woodpeckers. ... try hare or other injured animal..

That is the first time I've ever heard of a wolf reacting to woodpecker..

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

yes I know a woodpecker of all the sounds I have but it worked to a point I thought if other K-9 come into it why not a wolf. Like I said it worked to a point. I also used a snowshoe hair later.