Thread: How Much Did My Bear Weigh?

Default How Much Did My Bear Weigh?

This one: http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ort-and-Photos)
    Can you estimate from the pics, and dimensions? It's 9'-2" with a 27-7/16 inch skull.

My sons and others have asked me multiple times, and I give them a broad range (based on inconsistent/contradictory information in various books), but I'm not sure it's correct. I'm curious as well myself. Anyone have an educated guess?

Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert but using the pics of you and your guide it looks to be between 500-600lbs. Never have seen one brought out whole and weighed though so it's always a WAG!

He's fairly well muscled and obviously older based on skull size. That leads to greater bone density and weight. He doen't strike me as a particularly HUGE bear, he's in the big class. I also agree with the above guess and lean towards 600.

i'd lean in the 600-800 range. joe want might have a better guess i belive he's actually weighed bears before...
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Since no one weighed it, tell them 1100 pounds, people outside will believe it.

Otherwise, I'd go with brwnbr. Congrats on the bear.

I'll also say around 600 but if he had hit a good salmon stream believe he could hit 800 easy
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

Thanks to all for the estimates.

I'm probably guilty of wishful thinking, but I don't want to exaggerate anything. I assumed he was more along the lines of what BRWNBR says. I was thinking even a little higher as 700-900 lbs, but I don't know since I didn't weigh him, and haven't weighed any other bears.

Here was/is my thinking:

According to this guy, the average harvested mature brown bear bull is 725 lbs: http://www.bowhunting.net/bearhunting.net/bear2.html