Thread: ammo shelf life

Default ammo shelf life

Kept in a cool, dry place how long will my factory loaded centerfire ammo last?

Indefinitly.

Longer than you.

I was shooting some 1941 dated 30-06 ammo until a year or two ago. It was collecting moisture in the powder and the loads became super hot...

But who knows where it was kept during WWII, the 1950s and the 1960s..
    It was 55 years old when I started shooting it and about 60 to 62 years old when I started having problems.

I also have some nice 1950s factory ammo that was always kept in a dresser drawer. My dad eventaully gave me this surplus. It still looks brand new and fires great. In fact it groups MUCH better than the new ammo of the same manufacture and bullet weight.

xx
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Default ammo life

The military rotates stock after 10 years to dissasembly and sale of components.So I would say 10 years for ammo to save your life. I would say 20 years for hunting non deadly animals is ok if its always under your control. 30 if it is sealed with primer seal and bullet seal and in airtight cans.( most commercial is not so well sealed except for federal safari ammo that i know of). (could be others).40 years for target ammo.

Ammo that you get after it has already aged is anybodys guess. keeping ammo STILL and STEADY is just as important as keeping it clean and dry and cool.( dont ever tumble loaded ammo)