Thread: Colt Kodiak

Default Colt Kodiak

I have a question for the experts.

I have been carrying a colt Kodiak 44 as my hiking gun for years now. Recently a friend took a look and said that this gun is too valuable to be banging around in the woods with and recommended that I put it away and get something better suited for this activity.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance
    Matt

I'm no expert but I'll chime it. The Kodiak is an Anaconda that came out of the Colt custom shop. I think they only made 500 of them. I almost bought one to pack around a few years ago but I wanted to move to a 45 Colt. I say pack it and shoot it. It's what it was made for. Then again, I don't have any "safe queen" guns. My "new to me" hunting handgun is a Ruger SBH Bisley Hunter 45 Colt. They only made 279 of them. I'll pack it and shoot it. My .02.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Do a search for "Colt Kodiak 44 Magnum" on the Internet.

It appears that GunsAmerica, listed one for $1700.00, that was in "as new" condition. And it's no longer listed. Maybe it sold, but I dunno the price.

Will it double in price in the next 20 years?????

I think that lotsa people hunt with rifles costing more than that.

I understand, that it's very well suited for the "activity", so I'd carry it like you're doin, myself.

I'm not a collector, and appreciate a gun for what it's intended for.

I'll be interesting to know what others think.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

Approximately 2000 made in 1993 through the custom shop. Blue book @ 100% is $1250.....

Just look at the price of some Casulls folks carry in the bush and you will see what you are doing is fine. The gun was built to hunt and shoot. No one tells their PH in Africa that they should but up their 1920's H&H double rifle just because its worth 30grand for a beater.