Thread: 7mm Remington Mag Bullet Weight for Deer?

Default 7mm Remington Mag Bullet Weight for Deer?

I am going to use my Light Colt in 7mm Remington Mag for deer hunting in PWS this fall. I will be loading my own rounds, and was wondering what would be a good bullet weight for deer. The charts go from 120 gr to 175 gr. Lyman recommends 160-175 gr for bigger game, naming elk in particular.

I'm relatively new to reloading, and not the most ballistically informed, so was thinking that a lighter bullet/higher velocity would be more appropriate. Am I on the right track?
    Thanks for your input.

been shooting 160 gr speers out of mine with good success.

Hunting deer notwithstanding, pick the bullet/bullet weight that your rifle shoots best for anything you may have to shoot. I would hate to have 140's loaded while sheep hunting and have to shoot a griz with them. If you find a high quality 160 that your rifle shoots well, load it and stay with it not switching back and forth for a given hunt. The 160's will be fine for deer sized game and will serve you better for larger game.

Do some loading and experimenting and you'll find what your rifle likes.

Good luck

Default 7mm...

140gr Barnes TSX is the ticket. My 7-08AI shooting this bullet has killed deer, sheep and even a couple grizzlies. You'll get excellent speed and with the design of the TSX you will get excellent penetration and the bullet will hold together even at the high speeds of your 7 mag. Accuracy will be excellent too. Have nothing but good things to say about them after using them a bunch. Might even give the 120's a try if you want.

any bullet your gun shoots good will be good for deer, as mentioned above, no need to switch back and forth on different loads for different animals. I have seen deer shot with several different calibers from .243 up to .338, the deer didn't seem to know the difference