Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .454 Casull

Default .454 Casull

Greetings fellow forum folks,
    I'm going to start hand-loading the .454 Casull. I have hand-loaded the .44mag for years, but I am new to this cartridge. I've ordered the Lee carbide pistol die set and some brass, but I want to get some ideas before purchasing bullets. I've heard conflicting information. I've heard you can load either the .451 or .452 diameter bullets, and I've also seen where some bullet manufacturers' designate the .452 for the Casull. Being a cautious hand-loader I'd appreciate hearing your experience. This is one high pressure pistol cartridge, and I don't want to screw it up...or myself!
    Thanks in advance for your ideas and comments,
    Doc

I don't have reloading experience with the .454 Casull, but I do shoot factory ammo from a Freedom Arms .454 Casull that belongs to a friend. It's true that bullet manufacturers produce .451" and .452' bullets for the Casull, and that reloaders must be careful and properly crimp them. There is some reloading data at the Freedom Arms web site, and maybe you can ask Freedom Arms about reloading for your gun:
    http://www.freedomarms.com/

One thing to be careful of on the 454 is using bullets that are suitable for it. Due to it's high pressure, if you use softer bullets designed for the 45 colt, they will upset enough on the way from the cylinder to the forcing cone in the barrel to really hammer the barrel which leads to cracking.

As far as 0.451" or 0.452", it depends on the dimensions of your gun, if you have larger throats in your cyliner, the larger bullets may improve accuracy.

I have discovered the bullets hold better with the crimp if you seat the bullets in one step and then go back and adjust your die to crimp them in another step.
    This is for full power loads.
    Tennessee

Default loading the 454....

Doc,