Thread: Dodge 6.7 Diesel for the interior?

Default Dodge 6.7 Diesel for the interior?

I maybe moving to Delta Junction in a month and I'm trying to decide if my 4x4 Dodge 6.7 diesel with 6 spd manual tranny can handel the cold. I plan on running synthetic 5-30 in the engine. I've been running Dodge diesels since 1991 here in the lower 48 and I hate the thought of going back to wimpy, gas 4x4s. (I want to be able to pull my travel trailer or 25' Custom Weld around in the summer.)

I've had no problems down to -10 here in Idaho with just an engine block heater; but with temps down to -50 is it better just to sell the diesel and go to gas? Any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by Wfoidaho View Post
    I maybe moving to Delta Junction in a month and I'm trying to decide if my 4x4 Dodge 6.7 diesel with 6 spd manual tranny can handel the cold. I plan on running synthetic 5-30 in the engine. I've been running Dodge diesels since 1991 here in the lower 48 and I hate the thought of going back to wimpy, gas 4x4s. (I want to be able to pull my travel trailer or 25' Custom Weld around in the summer.)

I've had no problems down to -10 here in Idaho with just an engine block heater; but with temps down to -50 is it better just to sell the diesel and go to gas? Any ideas?
    The oil companies use Powerstroked Fords in the arctic. Doyon bought a Cummins Dodge as their mechanics truck on rig 141 but the mechanics couldn't keep it in service. ASRC uses GMC w/ Duramax but thats only cause the corp owns a GMC dealership in Montana

My 2001 dodge has been woking just fine, it you let it sit for a few days and not plugged in at -15 it starts hard but it still starts. Not sure about the sin oil you are talking about i used the normal type for my dodge. You may want to add a extra heater on it when it gets real cold.

Sweepint
    Wasilla, (when not overseas)
    '' Livn' The Dream ''
    26' Hewescraft Cuddy, twin 115 Yam