Thread: Looking for advice

Default Looking for advice

I am planning on moving to Alaska in about a year and trying to get all my ducks in a row before I do. I am looking at the Girdwood area. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction to start looking at what there is for work and a place to live. I am a pipe welder and also have a class A CDL.

My dream jobs would working for a hunting and fishing guide service during the summer and working at Alyeska during the winter but to get started I'll take what pays the bills. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Default Moving to Alaska

Moving to Alaska is a huge emotional and economic venture. Do youself a favor and buy a ticket to come up and explore exactly what you talked about. Sounds realistic enough if the need exists for your skills and you can get your foot in the right doors. Just like anywhere else, meeting the right person at the right time and place can make all the difference.

While I love Girdwood, there isn't much there for professional work. Yeah, you can work at the resort, but most resort jobs are fairly low paying. I was a ski instructor for five years and loved the free season pass, but it's not an income to build a life around. Realistically you'll want to look for work in Anchorage. I imagine a good welder or driver could find work in Anchorage, and the 30-45 minute commute isn't too terrible. Weather can be a bear along that stretch of highway, but there isn't much traffic in the winter, so it's doable. Another option would be trying to get a welding job on the North Slope (oil fields). If you could figure out a 2 weeks on/2 off rotation, living in Girdwood would be spectacular for your time off.

Thanks for the quick responses. I'm not worried about the emotional aspect of moving too much. Afghanistan didn't bother me so I think I should be able to handle moving to Alaska.