Thread: 7mm rem to 338 win mag resize

Default 7mm rem to 338 win mag resize

have a load of 7mm rem mag brass that i wont be using soon. would it be possible to resize the neck up to .338 for my 338 win mag? i am new to reloading an not to worried about doing this any time soon but was just wondering about the possibility.

thanks in advance

They'll work, but it's a lot of effort to go from .284 up to .338. On the other hand, I know a friend (AKRoadkill) who resized .264 Mag brass to .338 with the simple pull of a trigger so it can be done.

If you're serious about it, it would also be beneficial for you to learn about annealing. The necks may become a bit brittle and work-hardened.
    Gun-Steuerung arbeitet für uns!
    (let us not repeat history...)

Sorry to revive an old thread....but I ran across a dozen or so pieces of once fired 7mm rem mag brass and since I don't have a 7mm, I figured I'd turn them into 338WM. I ran the well lubed necks into my 308 expander button first, then full length size them in my 338 WM die. It didn't seem to take too much force on the ram to expand the necks and dimensionally they are pretty darn close to 338 specs. The distance to the top of the shoulder is maybe 0.020" short, but the dist to the base of the shoulder is right on.

The overall length to the case mouth is about 0.010" short of the trim to length dim of 2.49". I can't imagine that would be a problem...

Anyone see any reason why I would have any issues using this brass for my 338? It chambers in my m77 fine, just starts to tighten up as I cam over the bolt.

thanks

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Both cartridges headspace on the belt, so I don't think it would be a problem if you fireformed them, and THEN checked the case length, and trim if necessary.

If the necks end up short that COULD be an issue as the 338 doesn't have much neck either.

Interesting project. Did the necks get too thin?

Smitty of the North