Thread: Etiquette question

Default Etiquette question

Hey all Im very new to duck hunting and I have been looking around on here trying to get a real good handle on practices and techniques. I have learned alot about what is accepted and what is down right rude (IE setting decoys and leaving them along time) I was wondering if it is common practice or just idiocy to set a guy in a blind and have someone in a boat pushing the ducks around for everybody on a slow fly day? I haven't seen anybody do it and I have found its fairly effective what do you all think?

Not only bad etiquette, but illegal... You can't have a friend purposefully chase or push birds for you.

Erich

Hmm, no I don't know what the layout is where you are hunting but I don't see how it would be illegal for you to stay in a blind & your buddy start walking the marsh & try & jump up some ducks. He would probably be helping out others as well when things have slowed & nothing is moving. However you did mention a boat so if you are on a lake & he would be motoring around in a big circle I could see where that would be different & would be frowned upon.

There is a difference between jump shooting and harassing the game (no matter what it is). A lot of it comes down to who is trying to shoot the animal. Jump shooting is (where I grew up hunting) a practice that is mostly used when leaving the blind for the day and trying to get something on the way back to the cabin or truck. But you were doing so to kill the bird for yourself. If you are pushing the animals in a direction that somebody is sitting (IE a buddy) that is harassing or purposefully chase. Then you are doing that so somebody else can benefit and kill the bird.
    They had a problem with people, more so in the lower 48, paying others to "jump" the birds so that they would be able to shoot them.

Even if it was legal, it is just un-sportsman! And really takes all the fun out of it...