Thread: Floatless Float Hunt

Default Floatless Float Hunt

To set the stage for tale, I have been coming up hunting in Alaska for the last several years, mostly moose hunting, but often take opportunistic species as well. This hunt was set in gmu 23, to include ten days on the river hunting solo in my Magnum raft purchased from Larry at Pristine Ventures.

Arriving in Kotzebue I made my way over to Golden Eagle Outfitters to see when I could get my flight out into the field. Golden Eagle, although very busy this time of year was most accommodating, they allowed me to sort out my gear while they continued to keep up with the steady flow of hunters passing through Kotzebue. After witnessing what a flight service goes through to keep us hunters happy, we really should be appreciative of the hard work they go through. They are working very long days and the crew at Golden Eagle really wants you to have an enjoyable time.

With a time set to get out, Jared (who runs Golden Eagle in Kotzebue) loaded my gear up in his aircraft and advised me that there have been heavy rains in the area. We would fly up to my chosen spot to see how conditions looked for landing. After flying into my drainage we flew low and slow looking at the normal landing areas only to find nearly all the gravel bars submerged. Jared flew his wings off trying to find a way to get me in there, but it was clear, nothing short of a floatplane was going to be landing in this area.

Flying around, with at this point nowhere to hunt, I was disappointed. It also was clear Jared shared this same emotion. We both needed a bathroom break at this point so we flew to a air strip he knew of to take care of business while regrouping as to where I might hunt at. A years worth of planning and now I am scrambling through the reg book to find a place to hunt (got to love Alaska).