Thread: Rex trail - ATV access for antlerless DM684, a novice seeks advice

Default Rex trail - ATV access for antlerless DM684, a novice seeks advice

I have this question to experienced Alaskan ATV riders about Rex Trail access to that area between Totalanika and Tatlanika rivers. Basically, this is for antlerless DM684, which is open till the end of October. Bear with me, I am an ATV novice, so same (all?) questions are pretty stupid

1. How difficult this raid of 16-18 miles is (again, I am an ATV novice)

2. Best time to go IYO to avoid mud and water on the trail, at least a lot of it - end of Sept, mid- or late October

3. In late October a snow will likely be on the ground - do I need tire chains?

4. Is it realistic to camp on Parks somewhere nearby (I have a camper on my track) and go to the hunting area for day trips (16-18 miles OW ride).

5. If so, how many miles my range could be on one tank for this particular terrain (I saw 30-50 mpg range for the ATVs' mileage, apparently depending on the trail conditions)

6. Anything else I forgot to ask and/or should be asking?

Thank you very much for your answers and shared info,

Lots of mud and a big swamp. You NEED a winch and some rope. I recommend another ATV. Keep one on good ground while the other attempts to cross the mud and swamp bogs. Once across then the other can follow. Pull each other out but don't get them both stuck. Late Oct would see the least mud and bogs as some of the surface areas will be frozen but you will break thru the deeper mud and swamp bogs. Wear hip boots in these areas. Some areas are NO MOTORIZED VEHICLES, so watch out and know where you are. No you don't need chains. Yes you can camp on the Parks and day ride if you want. Take lots of extra fuel. I don't know of any ATV geting 30 - 50 mpg. In mud and bogs expect about 15 mpg or less, depending on engine size. And finally the best time to go is NOW!