Thread: Possible relocation to Valdez

Default Possible relocation to Valdez

Hello All,

I have been lurking about the site for a couple weeks and must say this is quite a site!

I am currently look into a job offer in Valdez and I have a few questions.

1. Does Valdez have a resident gunsmith and gun store? ( I am a gunsmith)

2. What are the popular family entertainment choices for the area?

3. What is the average housing property costs in Valdez?

Thanks in advance for any information

Regards,
    Everett

2. Snowmachining. Do you like snow...lots of snow? Like 6-10 feet per winter?
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I am aware of the heavy snowfall in the area and yes I do like snowmachining. I did it a lot while I was in Maine.

This won't be my first experience with Alaska, just my first with the mainland. I spent some time in Kodiak while in the USCG. I know its not exactly the same but is more experience than some who come north to stay.

I am hoping someone from the area will chime in with some more info concerning my questions.

Regards,
    Everett

What do you want to know?

I have only been here for a couple of months, since I just reported to Valdez. Now that the tourist are gone, I love it. Valdez has place's to buy gun's but I wouldn't call it a gun store. There may be a gunsmith, but I don't know of one. Family would be hiking, fishing, hunting, snowmobile, ATV, movie at the civic center. Just depends what you are into. Seems like avg cost is about $1500 to rent. Not sure if you want to buy or not.