Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: About the palmer hay flats

Default About the palmer hay flats

Well this is my first year hunting ducks in AK. So far I have only hunted palmer hay flats. Putting in at rabbit and heading down to the "lake" I have learned that it pays big to get way off into that place and prevent guys from setting up 50 yards from you. I have never see a worse display of sky busting then the ones I saw on sunday. Or the ******* in a rented jet boat with a 35hp that thinks its cool to wake a canoe in that small ass creek. but from what I have gathered is the place pays off if you are willing to put in some work, I've managed to get 6 or 7 birds a morning even with the poor weather. I almost always hunt solo due tot he fact that i dont know anyone who is serious about duck hunting. so as you can imagine this place is tough to hunt when it just one guy. but anyway enough with the rant. A few questions for you guys. I know the ducks don't have color this time of year so I removed all the drakes from my spread, well this seems logical to me I still see tons of guys with a regular mix of deeks. Am I the one in the wrong? Second question, is there a better access point to the "lake" then going all the way down the creek. My boat situation is a canoe with a 2hp outboard. I can get a bigger boat but I'd rather stick to what I got due to the fact that the bigger boat comes with someone i don't care to hunt with. thirdly, is the any other locations in the general anc/mat su that I should be looking at? And lastly, is there a proper name for that lake? I know everyone knows the one I am talking about.
    Thanks guys
    Griffin