Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .300 WSM performance in the field?

Default .300 WSM performance in the field?

The .300 WSM is a fairly new caliber that looks great on paper. does anybody have any stories about how they actually are performing in the field?
    If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction.
    Dietrich Bonhoeffer

They perform exactly the same as a 300 win mag. They may shoot a touch faster in some bullet weights but no animal will ever be able to tell the difference. Downfall is ammo costs more unless you roll your own. Some claim they don't feed as well but I have no problems and I prefer the shorter bolt throw of the WSM offerings. Long and short though, no difference in the field between venerable 300 win mag and the "new" (10 year old) short mag version.

Exactly what Lujon said. I've been hunting with my Tikka 300 wsm for 7 years now and it's performed very nicely. No feeding problems with mine. I reload my own cartridges.

I've been using my .300WSM for 3 years without issue.

180gr Nosler AB or PT at 2950fps or so has a very proven track record on all kinds of critters.

Been looking at these in the Tikka T3. Short bolt "suppossedly" saves on weight. Figure this will be my mountain gun (need a "reason" for another). Have only heard good things though.
    Know guns. Know peace. Know safety.

No guns: no peace. No safety!

I am pretty sure that the tikka only comes in a regular length action and they just limit bolt travel on the "short" cartridges. Great gun though! I have one in 270WSM and it feeds extremely smooth. Just don't lose the drop out mag!! They are apparently made out of crushed diamonds!!

A buddy of mine bought the T3 Lite Stainless. It shoots just as good as my Nosler (at a fraction of the cost).