Thread: I just bought a female black lab

Lightbulb I just bought a female black lab

Ok so i just got a pup and bring her home on the 28th. I have another dog who is 4 years old and a australian cattle dog. I want to have her learn how to be a hunting dog. I am a novice to hunting. i guess how do i train her when my other dog doesnt understand hunting. I would love any info would be great.

Congrats on the new pup!!
    I'd strongly recommend you get together with someone that is knowledgable about training a hunting retriever - this is a great place to put some inquiries out ..Getting help from an experienced/successful trainer is the best and easiest way to learn...There are several retriever clubs in the state as well that may be able to help point you in the right direction....
    In Southcentral, MSGDA, affiliated with North American Hunting Retriever Association, might be a good club to contact (www.MSGDA.org), they have a great Library of DVD's and books available to club members (cheaper than buying them!). Also, AWRC - ALaska Working Retriever Club - or RCA, (Retriever Club of Alaska) both AKC affiliated, offer classes in late winter to help folks get ready for summer hunt test/hunting season (Anchorage area)..and in Fairbanks there is FRC (AKC affiliated) and IAGDA (UKC/HRC affiliated)...FRC puts on late winter classes also.....

here is a webpage from MSGDA that lists links to the various 'Alaska' retriever clubs.... http://www.msgda.org/alaska_clubs/ak_clubs.html