Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I continue my lessons?

Eagle River, Alaska by way of Mobile, Alabama

Default Should I continue my lessons?

Hey all...thanks so much for your posts. I read them everyday and have learned so much.

I need to make a decision and I'm asking for your advise. I've been steadily working on my PP since April (ground school then flight). There is nothing I love more than to be aloft! I have 21 hours and am just on the verge of a solo. My last lesson I landed the 172 several times...albeit a little squirrley! I admit it is taking me a little longer than I had expected to learn to land but I tend to be a more cautious person. ANYWAY...here is my conundrum. I'm also a graduate student and classes have started. My mind is awhirl with school/work and my flying has been cut back to once a week. I think the cost/benefit ratio of my lessons has dropped significantly. I'm afraid I won't be able to get everything out of my lessons by flying only once a week -coupled with everything else I'm having to learn. I do have a five week break between semesters beginning December 3rd. Would it be wise to stop the lessons for now, and then continue them in December when I could fly two or three days a week? Or should I continue them now, flying only once a week, so I won't loose what I have learned? I know it's silly, but this is really causing me to loose sleep. I love flying so much that I don't want to quit, but neither do I want to waste money for lessons that won't be very effective. If I decide to stop the lessons until December, how do I tell my instructor? He is really very good and I don't want to loose him, either. Thanks all, Pam

Pam,