Thread: Continental 0-300A in a 170A

Default Continental 0-300A in a 170A

I'm looking into buying an airplane and was really interested in a 170 but they all have the 145 HP 6 cylinder continental engine unless they have been modified. Believe me I'd like to find one modified with a 180 HP, but can't find one in Alaska. I'm a new pilot and not ready to fly one up from the lower 48.

I've heard bad things about this engine does anyone here have an opinion. Should I hold out for something with a different engine?

Thanks

One of my primary student clients had one and it worked just fine. Another guy who did his private in an old C-172 had the same engine. They purr because they are a 6 cylinder. As long as they are not over-loaded they do just fine.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

What bad things could you possibly have heard about that engine? It is bombproof. I'd take one over three O-320s any day.

You concern should not be over the engine but the HP provided by the engine. Plenty of folks feel fine with the 145 horsies but they aren't loading (overloading) them like they are a 185, either.

you may also be hearing bad things about the Cont. O-360 vs. O-300. The 360 has a bad rep. and the 300 seem to do quite well. People confuse them often.

Once had a C-170A with a heavy case 165-hp Franklin and a climb prop. Loved that airplane! Could have used the B-model's larger flaps, but the 165-hp and climp prop worked well for me. Last time I saw it, though, it was upside down on the ridge just on the north side of Lake Telaquana. Sad sight indeed.

And . . . . . . no, I didn't put 'er there!

Quote Originally Posted by hntr View Post