Thread: J-5 Pilot Owners Handbook

Default J-5 Pilot Owners Handbook

Hi All, my first post on the site all though I have been lurking for quite some time. I was hoping I could get some direction on how get a copy of a Pilot Owners Handbook for a 1941 J-5A I recently acquired. I am a low time student pilot trying to get everything ready for a check ride. I have the Type Certificate Data sheet from the FAA so I can compute CG but can not locate the POH. I tried univair and essoaircraft.com but the closest I can find is a J-5 aircraft specifications book. Is this the same thing? Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks

You're looking for a flight manual. POHs didn't come out until way after your plane was built. You TCDS should identify required equipment, placards, and documents. Does it mention a flight manual?

Quote Originally Posted by aksledder View Post
    Hi All, my first post on the site all though I have been lurking for quite some time. I was hoping I could get some direction on how get a copy of a Pilot Owners Handbook for a 1941 J-5A I recently acquired. I am a low time student pilot trying to get everything ready for a check ride. I have the Type Certificate Data sheet from the FAA so I can compute CG but can not locate the POH. I tried univair and essoaircraft.com but the closest I can find is a J-5 aircraft specifications book. Is this the same thing? Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks
    Mr Pid is right. Your Piper was built back during the dawn of man, but before his enlightenment. POHs came later . . . . . You should get all you really need from the PARTS and MAINTENANCE manuals. Those should be available from Piper.

Long story short. For your check-ride and for every flight in your J5A Piper Cub Cruiser, your placards count as your POH.
    Although when I had one, I did have the J5 Maint. Manual. It had some operating limitations listed.