Thread: Bushwhacking Advice in SE AK

Default Bushwhacking Advice in SE AK

I'm new to area and so far I'm pretty impressed by how difficult it is to bushwhack in the rainforest's of the SE. I've noticed on some of the trails I've been on that I can see some people wear caulked boots. So here are some questions ...

Anyone use caulked boots?
    How do you best deal with the devils club? Leather gloves are a no brainer, but what about the rest of your body?
    Is keeping your feet dry simply a hopeless and impossible goal? Nobody really hikes in those "Alaskan Sneakers" do they?

Quote Originally Posted by LeakyBucket View Post
    How do you best deal with the devils club? Leather gloves are a no brainer, but what about the rest of your body?
    I'm not from south east but here in south central, I find a trekking pole handy for pushing the devils club stalks to the side.
    Everything that lives and moves will be food for you.
    Genesis 9:3

So no one wears caulked boots? You mean to tell me no one has trouble slipping and sliding all over the place on the slopes in the SE. I've been looking at Hoffman boots. Anyone wear'em?

yeah, i live on prince of wales, i wear mine often. I have a pair of cut off tuffs that are caulked and also a pair of merrell hikers that are caulked. i use the merrells for hiking, hunting, everything. they arent waterproof or gore tex or anything, but i just slip on a pair of seal skinz socks over my smartwools and ive hiked in snow all day and have kept my feet warm and dry. my dad has a pair of mendls he had sent off to hoffman and got caulked. he likes them alot. id highly suggest spikey boots if youre going to be in the woods in se. they make life alot easier.