Thread: good inboard for river/bay only?

Default good inboard for river/bay only?

Got the ok from the bank for a new boat, was looking for an inboard to use to zip across the bay, 10 miles or so to my favorite river and moose hunting spot. Bay is normally 2-3 foot swells. River can get to a half foot shallow in some places.

Looking at a Weldcraft Sabre 21' and upping the power a little. The other option for me is a Jetcraft 2075. I have no experience with the UHMW bottom and do not know how well they hold up. River is mostly sand and loose gravel with no boulders.

North river has been suggested to me but the options seem to be the same, the only difference being a increase in price. Would like a hard top with heater for the lady's sake, (and mine as well ) and enough oomph to get up on plane easily with at least half a moose and a couple guys. Am I looking in the right direction?

you are pushing it here. a big enough boat to get across like you want to isnt always going to make 6 inches of water. and that boat isnt easy to push off the bottom where you will get stuck sooner or later, mostly sooner.

looks like you need to go to s smaller flatbottom like a wooldridge and cross on good days only.

Thanks for the heads up, guess I was looking in the wrong direction. I looked up their site and it seems a sport in either 17 or 20' would suit me well. I think a 17' sport with a 150 jet would be a nice combo, small enough to make it up the smaller creeks and enough room for a couple guys and stuff in the back. A 20' with a 150 jet seems like it would be underpowered. I will have to give them a call tomorrow.

Sorry I mixed up the two, I meant a 20' sport with a 150 jet sounds like it would be nice. Add in extra 40 gallon tanks and it should work well, no? I would hope it would do at least 30kts with the jet for the Fall when daylight is slim. Is that expecting too much from a 20' with a 150 jet?