Thread: New to AK Fowls

Default New to AK Fowls

I have been in AK for awhile now. I have never hunted ducks but am looking to get to harvests some this year. I have no knowledge of duck hunting and am not above saying it. I am looking for someone who is willing to show me the ropes. I know I am probably asking a lot but I am looking for someone in the Anchorage or Mat-Su area. If you have some knowledge you are willing to share I will do my best sponge imitation to keep up.

Try cottonwood creek off of Hayfield Road in Wasilla. You'll see some folks out there but it's not crowded at all. We went Sunday morning and there was 4 groups out there all morning. Just park and you'll see a trail towards the right corner of the parking lot against the treeline (hard to see in the dark if you don't know its there). Once you go over the walking bridge you can go left or right on the trail. We followed the right trail about a mile and a half to a nice water opening. After 4 hours we walked out with 1 duck. Meanwhile some guys that went left after the bridge were shooting up a storm. We met them in the parking lot later and they said there were ducks everywhere. So I would suggest going left after the bridge. The trail is partly maintained and reinforced with steel grates but those areas that aren't maintained are rutted, filled with water, and muddy as can be. We walked a mile and a half in about 20 minutes so it's not bad, just watch your step. Some of those holes will catch you by surprise. You'll be kneeling in some pretty smelly water and your gears gonna get soaked so think ahead. Have some good neoprene chest waders and camo yourself head to toe. Don't torget your duck call. Good luck.