Thread: roof ideas??

Default roof ideas??

So I am trying to figure out what to do for the roof of my cabin. The cabin will be 20x24 with 12/12 pitch roof. I am going to use rafters made out of 2x10's. The questions I have are how should I vent and insulate the roof? I plan on using metal. Do I sheet the roof with OSB or put the metal directley over the rafters? With the 2x10's have enough room for insulation or should I go with 2x12's. I was thinking about putting 2x4's horizontally across the rafters a couple feet down to make the inside of the cabin have a flat cieling, would this be a good idea for ventilation and insulation?

Thanks

I am not a building expert, but I built my own home and this is how I made my cold roof...

I have 2x10 rafters and I nailed 1x2's flush with the top of each rafter on each side. Then I put the 1/2" plywood sheathing on the roof, which works good because you now have 3" of rafter edge to hit with your plywood seams.

Then from inside the house, I put 2" blueboard in between each rafter up against the 1x2's. That gives you 1.5" of airspace between the blueboard and sheathing. That gives you a cavity to fill with insulation that is about 5.5". I used spray foam in that space for a total R value of about 38, but in my addition I used R25 fiberglass for a total R value of about 35.

I installed 12 foot long 2x4 ceiling joists between the rafters to creat an 8' ceiling in my second story (only the center 12' of a 32' wide home). I insulated above the ceiling with fiberglass to R50 and put vents in my gable ends above the insulation. I seems to work slick, the only problem I have seen is that a couple of my blueboard pieces stopped at the wall top sill plate blocking and melting frost/condensation would drip down on top of the wall, I solved that by making sure the blocking is short enough to allow the blueboard to extend all the way past the outside of the wall..