Thread: how often to you practice

Default how often to you practice

Just curious about how often everyone shoots I shoot for about 45 to an hour a day in the summer and drop off in the winter months to maybe 1 -2 hours a week.

I am new to it - relatively - but I try to shoot at least two quick sessions a week in the yard. I only shoot about 50 arrows. I try to practice my fundamentals, keep a pretty good pace and shoot from a variety of distances and I am done after about 30-45 minutes. I can't focus much more after that -- probably old age.
    But I think that is enough to continue to get me more proficient and allow me to tend to the other demands we all have.

I've been shooting since I was a kid, so the muscle memory makes hitting a decent group more about bowtuning etc. than form, but what I mostly practice for is for the enjoyment of it and building up the muscles for the hunt, so if I have to hold it that I don't pooch the shot. In winter I have nowhere to shoot but in mid summer I shoot 3-4 days a week once I get my fingers tuned up with the callouses....30-50 shafts per time, then more so in the weeks leading up to the actual hunt. Back in Wisco as a kid and teenager it was all about target shooting all winter indoors, then 3D and pass through broadhead leagues in the summer, and hunting in the fall. Out in the bush it's a big foam target in the backyard....repeatedly....and the random bold red squirrel that scolds me with a safe backstop behind it.

Almost daily, I have a 10 target course set up in the back yard that is challanging and esy to switch up so I never come close to being bored with it.
    BHA Member
    Bowyer to the forces of light in the land of the midnight sun.
    The 3 fold way: Every step we take as we walk through life effects, our family, our comunity and ourselves. One should walk thoughtfuly.

Quote Originally Posted by Rick P View Post