Thread: Final harvest timing

Question Final harvest timing

This is my first year gardening, and as we draw near to the end of the season, I need to figure out when to do my final harvests. First of all, when do I need to pull all of my leafy crops? Can I wait until the day after the first light frost, or are they going to start to die off before that like leaves on the trees? The birch and willow in my yard are starting to turn, so will the same happen to my spinach, lettuce, and kale? We've been eating all three almost every night, but we just can't keep up with the prodigious amount that our garden produced. I don't want to pull it too early, as I figure these crops won't last more than a week or so in the refrigerator, but I also don't want it to go to waste.

As for carrots and potatoes, I'm under the impression that I should leave those until after the first hard frost. Is that correct? Should I do that only with the potatoes, but pull the carrots earlier?

I'm clueless in all such things, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. For what it's worth, I'm at about 1,500' in elevation in Southcentral, so I'm sure my first frost will come a week or so earlier than the lower elevations in the surrounding area.

You could rig a temporary greenhouse over your leafy greens. That will buy you a bit of time. Last year, I cut the remaining leafy greens a couple of days after the first hard frost. They were fine (for me). Sorry, I can't help with the other stuff.
    ><((((>.`..`.. ><((((>`..`.><((((>

"People who drink light 'beer' don't like the taste of beer; they
    just like to pee a lot." --Capitol Brewery